Law Firm of Scott T. Moorey

Toll Free 888-821-9168
Local 239-603-6312

Good People Do Get Arrested
FREE CONSULTATION | 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Need Help? Contact Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

Send Us an Email Subscribe to This Blog's Feed FindLaw Network
Office Location

Law Firm of Scott T. Moorey
1430 Royal Palm Square Boulevard,
Suite 101, Fort Myers, FL 33919
Phone: 239-603-6312
Toll Free: 888-821-9168
Fax: 239-275-6507

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. This web site is designed for general information only.

BBB Accredited business Click for Review

Why giving alcohol to a minor is a terrible idea

College is the time in a young person's life where they experience true freedom for the first time. For some, this means living on one's own and learning to manage finances. For others, this means taking advantage of previously inaccessible opportunities, such as going to house parties where alcohol is being consumed.

While some over-21 individuals may pay no mind to handing their under-21 friend a beer or buying them alcohol at the liquor store, doing so in Florida is actually considered a criminal offense that can lead to a misdemeanor charge. If convicted, the person accused of providing alcohol to a minor could face serious consequences that can reach beyond jail time and a fine.

The penalties you could face if you provide alcohol to a minor

Under § 562.11 (1)(a) of the Florida Statutes, it is unlawful to sell, give or serve alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. Doing so constitutes a second-degree misdemeanor that can lead to:

  • Imprisonment for up to 60 days in jail (§775.082 (4)(b))
  • A fine of up to $500 (§775.083 (1)(e))

And these are just the criminal consequences. Some colleges in Florida have student misconduct policies that give administrators the option to kick a student out of school for underage drinking while on campus. Depending on the wording of such policies, a student convicted of providing alcohol to a minor might fall under this vale, meaning this student could also be expelled.

A college student's problems may not end there, however. In Florida, employers are encouraged to run background checks on potential employees as a way of limiting their liability. If a criminal background check turns up a second-degree misdemeanor, a Florida employer may choose not to hire that individual, costing him or her an employment opportunity.

Don't throw away your shot for a better future

Just because you see it in the movies or know friends who do it, it's a good idea to think twice before providing alcohol to a minor. After all, would you rather give yourself the chance for a better future or risk the possibility of ruining it with a criminal conviction? 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Visit Us On