FREE CONSULTATION | 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Need Help? Contact Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close
Send Us an Email Subscribe to This Blog's Feed FindLaw Network
Office Location

Law Firm of Scott T. Moorey
1430 Royal Palm Square Boulevard,
Suite 101, Fort Myers, FL 33919
Phone: 239-603-6312
Toll Free: 888-821-9168
Fax: 239-275-6507

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. This web site is designed for general information only.

BBB Accredited business Click for Review

How will you get to work after a DUI license suspension?

Anyone in Florida who is convicted of impaired driving may have to face several consequences. Along with fines, fees and court costs, a DUI conviction usually also leads to license suspension. This could adversely impact various aspects of the person's life. Along with the inability to get the necessary shopping done, how will he or she get to work -- after all, an income is essential to pay fines.

Fortunately, the criminal justice system in Florida offers a DUI hardship license. This is in recognition of the driver's obligations to pay bills. However, a driver who obtains such a license may only drive to limited destinations. These could include traveling between home and work or school, attending alcohol or drug treatment programs, to the doctor's office for medical appointments, and sometimes a parent might get permission to take his or her children to schools or doctors. Furthermore, time limits may apply, such as restrictions on night-time driving.

In Florida, eligibility restrictions will only allow those with first time DUI convictions to obtain a DUI hardship license -- although exceptions exist. A driver who receives a hardship license must attend and complete DUI school, and apply for a hearing with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) for possible reinstatement of a hardship license. Another mandatory requirement for anyone whose blood alcohol level was above .15 percent is an ignition interlock device for periods up to six months.

First-time offenders who are convicted of DUI in Florida might have questions about their rights and how to go about obtaining a DUI hardship license. Answers can be obtained from an experienced DUI defense attorney. A lawyer can explain the driver's legal rights, and provide the necessary support and guidance through ensuing legal proceedings.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Visit Us On