How does a DUI affect your driving privileges?

On Behalf of | Apr 2, 2019 | Firm News

The ability to drive is a convenience that impacts your life every day. Whether you commute to work in Cape Coral or need to run errands in Fort Myers, your car is the thing that gets you there. When the police charge you with a DUI, you may have to find alternate ways of getting around.

The state of Florida imposes different restrictions on first-time and repeat offenders. The leniency you face depends on your history of driving under the influence.

First offense

If the prosecution can prove that your blood alcohol content exceeded 0.8 percent, it can charge you with a DUI. You can lose your license from six months up to one year, assuming there are no injuries during the offense. A DUI with bodily harm results in a minimum three-year revocation.

Repeat offenses

If you receive a second DUI in less than five years from your first, you will see stricter penalties. The minimum duration of license revocation for repeat offenders is as follows:

  •       Two offenses in five years: five years
  •       Three offenses in 10 years: 10 years
  •       Four offenses overall: permanent

In Florida, anytime you refuse a breathalyzer test, you also increase your chances of steeper punishment. If you feel the officer has failed to follow proper procedure during evaluation, you can certainly seek retribution.  


If you need to drive for work or business, keep in mind that you can apply for reinstatement of your privileges at various intervals, depending on the number of previous charges. This process involves completing a special course, providing driving records and submitting a formal application.

Not all DUI charges are fair. Inaccuracy in breathalyzers may leave responsible drivers with a record of misleading offenses. If you think you received unfair or inappropriate treatment during the booking or conviction process, there may be recourse to help you keep your driving privileges.