When a Florida law enforcement official charges you with driving under the influence and you receive a conviction for the offense, it may hurt you personally, professionally and financially. In some cases, it may interfere with your ability to work and support yourself. Even if it does not, it is still going to have a sizable impact on your wallet.
How much might a Florida DUI cost you?
Expenses faced by first-time offenders
According to the Bradenton Times, a first-time DUI in Florida leads to about $1,000 in fines. This is before you factor in the costs of legal representation, court fees, towing and impound expenses and similar expenditures. If your drunk driving conviction is from an event where someone experienced an injury or damage to his or her vehicle, you may face additional expenses, too.
Expenses faced by second- and third-time offenders
As you might imagine, the expenses relating to a drunk driving conviction increase with each one you receive. As a second-time drunk driving offender in Florida, expect to pay as much as $2,000 in fines alone. A third such conviction is an automatic felony and costs you as such. For a third-time conviction, plan to pay about $5,000 in fines alone.
Average expenses faced in total
Once you factor in all the fines you may face after drinking and driving, you should plan on paying an average of $3,500 following a conviction. Once you regain driving privileges, you should also anticipate seeing your automotive insurance rates skyrocket and they should remain high for some time thereafter.