When you send your child off to college, you hope that they will focus on their studies and stay out of trouble. However, even good students can slip up as they adjust to their new freedom and responsibilities.
If your college student is facing a charge for underage drinking, here is what you need to know about the penalties for this offense in Florida.
What are the legal penalties for underage drinking in Florida?
If this is your child’s first offense for underage possession of alcohol, he or she could see a $500 fine and up to 6 months in jail. Though most people do not receive the maximum sentence, you should still take the possibility seriously. For subsequent convictions, the fine increases to $1000, and the maximum jail time extends to one year.
Additionally, the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend your child’s license for six to 12 months following a first conviction and at least two years for additional offenses. In some cases, those convicted of underage possession may be able to apply for a restricted license.
What penalties can my child’s school impose?
Each college and university will have its own consequences for underage drinking. Students could face academic probation, barring from school activities, and even expulsion. After an underage drinking arrest, make sure to carefully review the school’s code of conduct.
You should talk openly with your child about the potential consequences of underage drinking. By ensuring your college student understands the penalties, you could help to prevent future offenses.