You probably rely on your car day in and day out. But you may not realize how dependent you really are until you face a second conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
License suspension is a given for a second offense, but is there any way under Florida law that you can get behind the wheel again?
If convicted of DUI for a second time within five years and your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was 0.08% or higher at the time of your arrest, you are looking at a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000. You could also spend up to nine months behind bars. You face license revocation of five years, but you can apply for a hardship license after one year. You must also attend DUI school and stay in a DUI supervision program for the duration of the revocation period.
There is another Florida program that will allow you to drive again. If you have a second DUI conviction, you must have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in any vehicle you drive. An IID is about the size of a mobile phone and wires to your engine. You must breathe into the mouthpiece and the IID will measure your BAC. You must pass this test in order for the car to start. The device transmits the data to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. You bear the costs of both installation and monthly maintenance and calibration. Second offenders must use an IID for one year.
Reaction to the charge
Remember that you have rights, and an advocate can prepare a defense strategy that allows you to challenge the DUI charge. You want to resume your life. You want to drive again. And you want the best outcome possible for your case.