The state of Florida takes driving under the influence of alcohol quite seriously, so, as you might imagine, the penalties for doing so increase in severity with each conviction. In addition to facing serious criminal penalties for drinking and driving on more than one occasion, you may, too, face steep financial repercussions that have the potential to impact many aspects of your life.
What sorts of penalties do you face as a repeat-DUI offender in Florida?
Penalties for a second DUI
On the financial end, expect to have to pay a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000 for a second DUI offense. If your blood-alcohol content exceeded .15, plan on facing a fine that falls somewhere between $2,000 and $4,000.
You may also have to spend up to nine months behind bars if you receive a second DUI conviction in Florida. If your breath test reading exceeded .15, or if you had a minor in your vehicle when authorities arrested you, you may wind up spending up to a year behind bars.
Penalties for a third DUI
When you receive a third DUI conviction within 10 years of your second, expect to face fines that fall somewhere between $2,000 and $5,000. You should plan on facing steeper jail or prison penalties, too.
If you receive your third conviction within 10 years of your second, you must spend, at minimum, 30 days behind bars. If you receive a third DUI conviction but it comes outside of that 10-year span, you may still have to spend up to 12 months behind bars.